1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

'91 S10 blazer 4x4 fuel mix

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2015, 05:27 PM
webstyles is on a distinguished road
Smile '91 S10 blazer 4x4 fuel mix

(automatic transmission, 4.3L V6 engine): 1GNDT13Z1M2

Hi guys,

I don't want to bore you with too much background information, so I'll try to keep it short(ish).
basically I have been given the task of fixing up a '91 Chevy S10 blazer 4x4 that belongs to a friend. This car is very rare in my country. In fact, it's the first one I've ever seen here in 30 years.
I'm not a mechanic, but I've serviced all my cars and motorbikes and have somehow always managed to figure things out and get things working with the help of the internet, good fellows like yourselves, and some service manuals.

This car (I call it the Urban Ninja) was born in the U.S, then sold to Germany, and now it's in Portugal.

My involvement started after the owners had a GPL conversion done on it and failed the emissions test required to certify the GPL installation. I was asked if I could install a catalyser on the car so that it would pass the emissions test and could be used with Gas instead of Petrol (I'm a computer programmer, so the fact that they would ask me to install a catalyser is so deliciously random, that I decided to go with the flow). I replied that, in the first place it was strange that there was no catalyser (as I was told, I haven't had a chance to confirm yet because it rained all day and I didn't feel like getting under the car to have a look), and second, if it was nicely tuned up and everything working fine, there should be no reason to fail the emissions test, even without a catalyser.