1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

93 S10 Blazer, missing at med. speed

Old 02-03-2011, 06:48 PM
Starting Member
ffox is on a distinguished road
Default 93 S10 Blazer, missing at med. speed

Newbie here with a problem already..I have a 93 S10 Blazer with a 4.3 Vortec, CPI, 4x4,140,000 miles.
It has a miss at speeds between about 40 and 55 mph..Starts great, and runs great but never fails as soon as it reaches 40 to 55 mph it starts missing, slightly at first then gets worse at all speeds, low or high and even at idle..
Things I've replaced so far and didn't make any difference at all.
I clean the EGR valve every Fall, and replace the gasket with a screened gasket. I just checked it and it's clean.
Replaced the oxygen sensor, wasn't getting a code on it but the heater was open.
Replaced the fuel pump about 40,000 miles ago, it was still putting out about 58 lbs. and holding but I replaced it anyway.
Replaced plugs, set gap at 0.35 per book. Replaced wires, cap, and rotor.
Replaced fuel injectors 40,000 miles ago, but decided to replace it again..Bought a re manufactured unit off of Amazon, wouldn't work. They had the pressure regulator set at about 54, I turned it up to 65, worked great.
Replaced nut kit.
Vacuum is between 15 and 20.
Fuel pressure is steady between 58 and 65 and holds for several hours.

Can't understand it. Even when it's cold, starts on first crank, idles great, goes into closed loop within 2 to 3 minutes and runs great as long as you stay under 40, go over that and it starts missing, every time. Never sets a code.

Thanks, appreciate any help I can get.

Last edited by ffox; 02-12-2011 at 02:17 PM. Reason: Update
Old 02-03-2011, 08:05 PM
Leeann_Bravada is an unknown quantity at this point

You need to test your coil and ignition module. Sounds like something is failing either hot or under load.

Old 02-03-2011, 08:31 PM
4X4 forever is on a distinguished road