94 s10 blazer coolant temp guage - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation s-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Closed Thread
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-06-2011, 07:33 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 63
drummerdude is on a distinguished road
Default 94 s10 blazer coolant temp guage

Alright so I need some help here. I have a coolant temp guage that does not work. I have done some research and searching and found out which sensor it is, and I have tested the guage itself and wiring by shorting the connection to ground and the guage works. I just went and replaced the temp sender unit and the gauge still does not work. Its about 50 degreees outside and I let the engine warm up for a good 20 mins and the gauge still has not moved, what eles can I check?

Thanks guys
  #2  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:40 PM
Super Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,057
mr.vls will become famous soon enough
Default

Which sending unit did you replace? There are two temperature sending units, one is for the gauge and one is for the ECM. The one for the gauge is mounted on the side of the block. The one for the ECM is mounted by the water inlet at the intake manifold. Also there are two different temperature sending units for the dash. One is for vehicals with an idiot light and one is for vehicals with a gauge. I have had the parts store sell me the one for a car with an idiot light before.
  #3  
Old 11-06-2011, 11:17 PM
BF Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SW Central OH
Posts: 2,252
pettyfog is a jewel in the roughpettyfog is a jewel in the roughpettyfog is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vls View Post
Which sending unit did you replace? There are two temperature sending units, one is for the gauge and one is for the ECM. The one for the gauge is mounted on the side of the block. The one for the ECM is mounted by the water inlet at the intake manifold. Also there are two different temperature sending units for the dash. One is for vehicals with an idiot light and one is for vehicals with a gauge. I have had the parts store sell me the one for a car with an idiot light before.
Drummer.. that is very likely the problem.
  #4  
Old 11-07-2011, 05:54 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 63
drummerdude is on a distinguished road
Default

I replaced the one on the side of the block. And it is the correct sensor, looks just like the old one, so now I'm going to play the game of track where the bad connection is.. IE ground, clip, etc.
  #5  
Old 11-07-2011, 05:57 AM
chris015's Avatar
BF Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,743
chris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura about
Default

the trucks a 94....do you have the terrible digital dash? If so it could just be the cluster. They are notorious for loosing gauges.
  #6  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:15 AM
harley745's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 49
harley745 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Temp Guage

I had the same problem, and finally added a Manuel temp gauge, now I know for sure what the temp is, also according to specs I added a 195 degree thermostat, now it runs between 190 and 195. The temp is never out of the range. Good Luck Sir
  #7  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:55 AM
Starting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 115
bromanjr is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummerdude View Post
Alright so I need some help here. I have a coolant temp guage that does not work. I have done some research and searching and found out which sensor it is, and I have tested the guage itself and wiring by shorting the connection to ground and the guage works. I just went and replaced the temp sender unit and the gauge still does not work. Its about 50 degreees outside and I let the engine warm up for a good 20 mins and the gauge still has not moved, what eles can I check?

Thanks guys
If shorting the wire to ground pegs the gauge, then it is the sending unit, you got the wrong one or a bad one.
  #8  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:35 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 63
drummerdude is on a distinguished road
Default

I do not have the digital cluster. Can someone post the link for the right part at napa or autozone?
 
 
Closed Thread

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
temp guage 91 S10 4x4 travler 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech 2 01-10-2014 04:06 PM
Temp switch and/or Temp gauge sending unit and/or Temp sensor? "w" engine zakm0n Engine & Transmission 5 01-09-2011 07:31 PM
Temp guage randomly rises then drops pmezo 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 28 11-06-2010 04:30 PM
No temp reading on temp guage bertrenolds 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech 4 12-19-2008 07:45 PM
Coolant temp. guage not working myronhntr80 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech 7 03-06-2008 07:58 PM


Tags
1994, 94, blazer, coolant, forum, gauge, gen, ground, guage, problems, s10, temp, temperature, wiring, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.