1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Air intake backfiring/car stalling.

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2010, 02:13 AM
Starting Member
biohazrebirth is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Air intake backfiring/car stalling.

So a few days ago my 1991 S10 Blazer (4x4) started acting funny. I had the gas down and then the car just started to "stutter" for a few seconds with some popping sounds but then rode again just fine. It then stated to do it more frequently the next day.

Day 3:
I took the car to auto zone to hopefully find some help with my friend. we popped the hood to see at least where the popping sounds were coming from. when i pushed on the gas we saw the lid at the top of the air intake (where the circular air filter is) pop up. so we took the lid off and did it again and we could see air shooting outward in random pops. im no car expert but im pretty damn sure that the air should be going the opposite direction.

here are the symptoms:
this "popping" or "back firing" only occurs when the gas is pressed
when idling or costing it will not do it
it is now easily doing it when accelerator is pressed harder
air shooting or backfiring out of intake
when accelerating, if popping goes long enough the car will stall out and shut off

please help if you can

feel free to ask questions and i will answer as best as i can

what sux is i just dropped 1400 total for parts and labor to swap out for a new transmission and im nearly broke and i gotta drive 32 miles a day to and from work.

preciate any help at all.

Old 03-23-2010, 04:20 AM
Gimpy Blazer is on a distinguished road

I had something so similar happen to me on two vehicles that you might check.