1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

High beam does not work low does

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 02:01 PM
Amelia23 is on a distinguished road
Default High beam does not work low does

I have a 1991 Chevy S10 Blazer 4x4. The high beams on the passenger side burned out, but I still have low beams. When I went to NAPA, they sent me the glass headlight.(the part you see on the outside of the blazer. I am a total beginner on repairs, but wouldn't it just be a lightbult problem, meaning that I would only need a bulb or is everything built in to the new headlight?

My other question is how do I take the light out?

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and respond.

Amelia23

Last edited by Amelia23; 08-20-2012 at 02:10 PM.
Old 08-20-2012, 02:21 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

first gens use sealed beam headlights, the whole unit, glass and bulb is one. Its real easy to take out, if you look at the headlight, you will see a metal trim piece around the headlight, held on by 4 screws, take out those 4 screws, and that trim piece will come out and the headlight will come out with the connector on the back, unhook, installation is reverse of removal.

Make sure you just remove the 4 screws on either corner of the trim piece, there are 2 other screws there, at the top in the center, and the inside near the grill at the center as well, those are adjustment screws, basically, only remove the screws that are at the corners of the light

Sorry if this is confusing, I am terrible at explaining things, if you are confused, let me know.

Old 08-20-2012, 02:45 PM

Thank you for your response.