1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Need some general blazer repair advice for my "to - do" list of fixes!

Old 11-12-2009, 10:45 PM
Beginning Member
94driven is on a distinguished road
Default Need some general blazer repair advice for my "to - do" list of fixes!

First off, I'm new to the site. I bought my first vehicle, a '94 Blazer (Blue) when I got my driver's license, and now I'm about to graduate college and go on to Grad school. My blazer's accumulated problems through the last few years and I've put most of them off 'til now. I'm moving to a colder, more mountainous location after graduation and I figured I need to be 'sorting the kinks out' of the blazer, so to speak. I've been reading up on various common problem threads and I'm making a list of how I'm going to go about fixing my Blazer's issues. FYI: I'm not a mechanic, but I can do simple maintenance myself! What I'm looking for is advice on any of these problems below as well as good brands and places to purchase parts, etc.

A little history in case it'll help you:
-'94 Blazer, Auto, 4WD, LT Tahoe trim level
-141k miles, original engine & trans
-Recently had R12 refilled this previous summer
-replaced stock radio for CD player + 1 subwoofer (I can't imagine this would be important, but here it is)
-Previous owner took very good care of the vehicle, well documented repair records. I have tried to carry on this tradition
-Had trans serviced at 120k miles. Mechanic said everything looked good.

Issues fixed since I've owned it (~5yrs):
-ALL three 4WD shifting issues corrected at once: points on top of transfer case replaced, the shifter cable was eaten apart by battery corrosion and the vacuum lines that control the 4WD shifter replaced.
-Ball joints replaced
-Heater core replaced after dumping antifreeze into the floor for months!
-Driver's side radiator "tank" replaced (plastic ones) - related to heater core incident.