1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

ecm1 fuse help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2010, 12:05 PM
Beginning Member
mrhockey4real is on a distinguished road
Default ecm1 fuse help!

I have a 1992 blazer s10 4x4, when I went to start it up in the morning it wouldnt fire up, so i checked all the fuses and noticed the ecm1 fuse was blown so I replaced it, then I went to start it up and it fired up rite away but the idle was very rough as if it wanted to stall, as I was giving it gas it was running but the idle was very loopy, and eventually the ecm1 fuse would blow and the engine would stall out on its own, im no mechanic so i dont know whats going on, however I did notice a spark plug wire had a gash in it so im thinking that its causing an internal short and making the ecm1 fuse blow, is there anyone that can help me figure it out? ive searched all the fourms for help but it hasnt help me out with much, any help would be appreciated thanks

Old 08-13-2010, 01:44 PM
ohsofly will become famous soon enoughohsofly will become famous soon enough

Does the spark jump from the tear in the wire? Where does it jump to, cause that spark could very well pop the fuse depending on where it jumps to. If its arcing, you can hear the crackling sound of the spark, and if its dark, you can definatly see it too.

Old 08-13-2010, 04:36 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

The ECM1 fuse feeds power to the EGR valve, ECM Pins B4 & A6, Variable Tuning CTRL relay, and the fuel injector in the CPI engine (VIN W).