1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Fuel issues (maybe?), need help pinpointing the problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2012, 03:14 PM
blyndside is on a distinguished road
Default Fuel issues (maybe?), need help pinpointing the problem

Hi everyone!

I'm new here, and I have a 1993 4.3L Vortec Chevy Blazer 4 door.. vin W that my I inherited from my father. I don't know how much more starting information you need, but I'm willing to find out.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to all things auto/mechanical. I am learning, though, so please bear with me. (I did change the alternator for the first time by myself a few months ago, hooray for me)

Here's the issue. A few months ago, I noticed whenever I'm idling at a stoplight or something like that, the truck would struggle to stay running, it would throttle up and down and sometimes it would just die. But it would start right back up. I've since, at the suggestions of some of my friends and some people at the parts store, replaced the fuel filter (the one near the side, not the one in the tank) and ran some fuel injector cleaner in it periodically. This seemed to clear up the issue, but now something else is happening.

The truck seems to run fine in the morning or whenever it's been sitting for a few hours. It starts right up. But when I drive it to work or any considerable distance, I notice a very strong fuel smell when I park it, or it's idling at the light. Very recently, the check engine light comes on when I idle now, and if I try to start the truck up shortly after it's been running for a while, there is a whining noise coming from the fuel tank area in the back, and the pitch of the whining noise raises and lowers with the throttle.