1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Heater Core... more than likely...

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2010, 02:35 AM
MidnightBlaze91 is on a distinguished road
Default Heater Core... more than likely...

Hey Guys and Gals!

New here to the site! Quick info bout myself and my ride....
Name is Amanda and I own a 1991 with 151000 miles. Has run very well but is finally having a few issues. This lil blazer has been in my family since it came off the line and have taken great care of it. But ever since it came to me... it started to well... you know. lol

So my Problem right now is the passenger side floor is overflowing with antifreeze. Its the Heating core (more than likely)... I was just woundering if anyone could tell me how hard it might hit the wallet and if this might be something I could fix myself with help. (cuz im just starting to learn how to work on different trucks, cars... lol)

Anyways, Im glad to be here and part of the site. Im hopeing that in the near future Il get to talk with people here to help me with Problems or even help get some ideas for the blazer.

Thanks!

Amanda (aka MidnightBlaze)

Old 04-16-2010, 02:41 AM
okvortec is on a distinguished road

Welcome!

Old 04-16-2010, 05:55 AM
Beginning Member
Corrupt is on a distinguished road

You should be able to get the heater core for around $30 or less. Below is what the Chiltons manual says about the removal and installation of the heater core.

The heater core is removable from under the right side of the instrument panel.
  1. Disconnect the negative battery cable.
  2. Position a drain pan under the radiator, open the drain **** and drain the cooling system to a level below the heater core.
Plug the heater core tubes to avoid spilling coolant in the passenger compartment during removal.
  1. Disconnect the heater-to-engine coolant hoses from the core tubes on the fire wall, in the engine compartment.