1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Opinions on K&N C.A.I. and T.B. spacer

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2007, 12:18 PM
dbleon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Opinions on K&N C.A.I. and T.B. spacer

I want to add a K&N cold air intake (or so they claim its cold), and a throttle body spacer to my '89 4.3l... Does anyone have an opinion based on experience? Milage? Perfromance? etc...

Thanks

Dan

Old 11-07-2007, 01:16 PM
blazin97 is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Opinions on K&N C.A.I. and T.B. spacer

If you get the K&N FIPK kit then it is cold air(thanks to the box that blocks engine heat)and I have it on my blazer. It added alittle power, not bad.

Old 11-07-2007, 07:51 PM
lennyblazer is on a distinguished road

A K&N FIPK cold air intake will not work with a throttle body spacer. I assume your truck is fuel injected but I don't know since I have no experience with that old of a blazer. I know in the newer ones (ones with fuel injection) that a throttle body spacer doesnt do much, except make a whistling noise. Hope this helps, from what I have heard the K&N intake is good, and I have been considering getting one.

Old 11-07-2007, 08:04 PM
Burlisonm is an unknown quantity at this point

I have a K&N FIPK and a TBS on my 03 Blazer and with both of them on there it is very hard to close the hood do to the fact that it is to tall. The only way that I could get it to work is put on the TBS with the original plastic intake tube that sits on the throttle body and use the rest of the K&N filter tube and filter. Lennyblazer is also right about the TBS, it doesn't do anything much but make a whistling noise.

Old 11-07-2007, 11:30 PM

Ya my '89 is F.I. tbi to be exact... I'm not sure if the K&N kit is cold air, but heres a link. Let me know what you think...

JCWhitney.com Link to a K&N FIPK...

*EDIT by swartlkk* - fixed long link

Old 11-08-2007, 12:01 AM