2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

1995 4wd dash selector switch replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2010, 01:36 AM
russosborne is on a distinguished road
Default 1995 4wd dash selector switch replacement?

Hi.
Just got this today, well technically yesterday now.

It needs the dash switch replaced. The current one is missing the front cover and the buttons. The previous owner used a key to short out the contacts to put it into 4wd.

I am completely new to Blazers. Would a Hayne's Manual cover this? Or is it really basic. I am not afraid to get into the dash, but I would like to have a clue before I start.

Also, anyone have a preference on the brand of switch? Rock auto has one for less than $30(US), I think it is a Dorman. Or should I look for a different brand? I don't want to spend a lot of money on a switch in case it turns out to have other issues.

I did search for this, didn't find anything. Sorry if I missed it.

Thanks,
Russ

Old 05-03-2010, 05:27 AM
Gimpy Blazer is on a distinguished road

You could try a junkyard. If not under $30.00 for a new switch ain't bad. If you don't believe it try pricing some. They're like HIGH!

Old 05-03-2010, 07:32 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

I'd suggest a junkyard or eBay as well. You should be able to pick up a switch for well under $30.

There is nothing special about the switches for the NP233 transfer cases. They either work or they don't. You could take a multimeter with you and test it.

Old 05-04-2010, 01:51 AM

Thanks.