2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

1997 jimmy fuel sender ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 10:18 AM
Beginning Member
zdog is on a distinguished road

new to me jimmy under went alot of maintenance work. i replaced a rusted out tank and transferred whatever aftermarket fuel pump.(not stamped anywere) it read empty after install and moved a hair when i threw 2 gallons in it

i take it to the gas station and throw ten gallons in it and now the needle is all over the place. im a electrician by trade and start taking ohm readings. im at 160 ohms on the sender.

i read through these threads and appears we should be a 0-90 ohm setup.

it get interesting however when i get specs on some new aftermarket direct replacements that advertise a 30-240 ohm sender.

im in the process of taking the tank out now to further investigate it but my ? is.... do we know for sure that all 97 models are 0-90?

ok. fuel sender is out. it is 40-240 ohms. 40 empty 240 full. is this correct for this model? 1997 4x4 jimmy . 4door slt. 4.3

update: with different information out there i tried some things out. if indeed my fuel sender should be 0-90 ohms i figured if i lock my 0-250 ohm sender at 90 id get a full reading. so i taped the sender at 90 and did an out of the tank plug in and i get just over a 1/4 tank. im starting to believe my 97 is a 40-250 ohm and NOT 0-90. maybee an end of the model year run? i still get a bouncing and jittery needle(although not as bad as 3/4 of a tank mark)

ive traced out the ground wire in the engine compartment and inspected all plugs and did multiple ohm readings from plug end to plug end. the wire reads good.

im kinda stuck now. its either the buffer module or the guage cluster?

anyone know where the guage cluster ground runs to?