2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2000 Chevrolet Blazer - Overhead Console Help (Not New Install), Steering, Fuel Gauge

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2011, 09:11 PM
Mudlife88 is on a distinguished road
Default 2000 Chevrolet Blazer - Overhead Console Help (Not New Install), Steering, Fuel Gauge

Hi guys,

I recently acquired a 2000 Chevrolet Blazer, Leather Int, Power Everything, Keyless, and so on. I have a few issues.

#1 - Fuel Gauge is either always full or always empty - I figured needed to replace fuel pump to get gauge back. Imput Welcome

#2 - Steering has alot of play, I have looked and idler arm is a little lose but the gear box seems to have excessive play, I have never replaced one. What all is involved, is it a easy swap the box out deal or what. I really need some direction here.

#3 - Overhead console displays incorrect information. Nothing is wright and it never changes. I have NO experience with this but was hoping to get it working as the RANGE would allow me to keep up with my fuel a little better. Nothing like heading to work at 2am and run outta gas, thats not a fun call to make. I have no idea what Im doing or where to start looking. All lights work, displays number, 30C temp, range stays at 236 I think. I Will get the info it displays in the am, just really wanna get this fixed.

I have been searching for 2 hours now, I feel I have the answer to both fuel and steering issue but all I find on the overhead is people needing help swapping/installing them and this is not the case for me.

Thanks in advance I am proud to be here and look forward to talking to everyone.

Old 09-03-2011, 10:41 PM

Ok....Some wierd info.

Range 263 - With $20 of gas @ $3.54 A Gal INCORRECT
Fuel Used 0.0 - Reset
Avg Speed 0.0 - Reset
Compass/Temp - NW OC - Hold both buttons you get # Selection 1-15 ???