2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2002 chevy blazer LS cranks but won't start

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2018, 11:51 AM
Starting Member
pevytoe is on a distinguished road
Default 2002 chevy blazer LS cranks but won't start

Hello everyone, this is my first time doing this and to be honest this is my last hope of fixing my vehicle before i lose my mine....lol I was driving and the car dies, i pull it over and try to restart it and it did, but then died. ever since then all it does is crank, acts like it is out of gas, but just filled it up. when i turn the key over i can hear the fuel pump hum, so i don't think this is it, my battery isn't losing charge and everything works in the vehicle (e.g. radio, windows lights etc...) so i don't think its the battery or alternator. I'm no mechanic, i use google to fix what i can, but it gets the job done. i did have to change out my power steering pump could i have done something to cause this problem i am having now? Please help

Old 04-25-2018, 12:38 PM
rockp2 will become famous soon enough

Do you have any trouble codes? If not, I would start with the fuel pressure/leakdown test you can find at the link in the bottom of my signature block. Just follow Captain Hook's directions.

Old 04-29-2018, 07:22 AM
LannyL81 is on a distinguished road

Sounds like the fuel pump is done for. Just because you can hear it running, actually means nothing. If the fuel pump has never been changed...it is due. Or if someone installed a non Delco fuel pump, like an AirTex or something, they usually only last a few months.

Replacing the fuel pump has one really difficult part; and that is getting the filler hose off of the tank without cutting it.

Replacement of the power steering pump causing this???....nothing that I can think of.

Good luck.

Old 04-29-2018, 10:31 AM
Starting Member
Zenith is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by rockp2