2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

4x4 stuck in yard in snow

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2013, 07:59 AM
Beginning Member
blackgn6 is on a distinguished road
Angry 4x4 stuck in yard in snow

I'm BRAND NEW at the truck thing, but i bought a 4x4 blazer FOR winter. today i got home and stuck in yard in very little snow. I put 4x4 hi, and tried lo and tires JUST spin. Any ideas? THIS is the reason i even bought it was for winter snow etc. the lights on the 4x4 hi and low button come on and stay on but worthless!!!

Old 03-07-2013, 08:22 AM
Beginning Member
greencactus3 is on a distinguished road

what kind of tires do you have?

Old 03-07-2013, 08:23 AM
Beginning Member

i dont know, never looked but plenty of tread. I didn't know if this meant the 4x4 wasn't working or what.

Old 03-07-2013, 08:41 AM
BF Veteran
El_Beautor will become famous soon enoughEl_Beautor will become famous soon enough

Do either of your front tires spin as well as the rear? If neither front tire spins with the rear tires then the truck isn't locking in. Don't try and spin the tires at high speed either, especially when just changing to 4x4. If you're stuck you shouldn't let your tires spin at all for several seconds after pressing the button, and normally the truck has to roll a few inches forward or back for the front differential to fully lock in. There's also several things that can happen with the 4x4 system where it will appear to be working but won't spin the front. The most common is a vaccuum problem with the front diff actuator under the battery tray.

Old 03-07-2013, 08:58 AM
Beginning Member

ok thanks. this evening i'll shovel and salt around it and get it straightened out and maybe this weekend take it somewhere to make sure the 4x4 etc DOES really work. if i have to move a bit to get 4x4 IN, i guess in winter i'd have to drive nonstop in 4x4 just in case this happens again!!!

Old 03-07-2013, 12:15 PM