2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Anti-Freeze

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2005, 04:48 PM
tomsblazer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Anti-Freeze

I need to flush and refill my radiator with new coolant/anti-freeze. Is the Prestone stuff actually compatible with the Dex-Cool that may remain in the system? I also did not see the radiator drain plug when looking at the radiator, which side is it on?

I am a former Ford driver and this Chevy thing is taking me a while to catch on.

Thanks for the help!

Old 12-17-2005, 07:15 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Anti-Freeze

Yes, fully compatible with Dex-Cool. If you are doing a complete flush and fill, you could switch over to the green stuff, its all up to you.

I haven't gone hunting for the drain, but in my experiences, all of my GM vehicles have had them on the drivers side. The newer ones have about a 1" diameter 1/4 turn valve that is almost flush with the side of the tank. It'll open up a passage that will drain out the bottom of the tank.

Good Luck.

Old 12-17-2005, 08:27 PM
tomsblazer is an unknown quantity at this point

Thanks for the info.

I found the drain plug on the passenger side way down at the bottom and under many hoses and fittings[:@]

Old 12-17-2005, 08:35 PM
Administrator