Bad TCCM??? - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation s-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Closed Thread
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-03-2009, 04:48 PM
The Beast's Avatar
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
The Beast is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

How do you know if your Transfer Case Control Module is out, or is going out in a 99 Blazer LT with the 4 button 4WD? What are the signs/symptoms? Thanks!!!

None of my 4wd button lights light up (they all flash on real quick when I start the truck), there's no service 4wd light on when the tccm is disconnected but there is one when it is connected, and it wont switch out of 2wd. PLEASE HELP!!!!

Last edited by The Beast; 04-03-2009 at 09:59 PM.
  #2  
Old 04-04-2009, 01:09 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
seedsorter is on a distinguished road
Default

Does the 4x4 button on the dash click or do anything when you push it? I know those 4x4 dash switches go bad.
On mine it would click and flash but the 4x4 would not engage at the t-case, it would just look like it at the dash. I disconnected the battery and tapped the cables together and it fixed it.
Not sure if that will work for you, if nothing happens at the dash you may need to get a new 4x4 switch, I don't think they are too expensive.
  #3  
Old 04-04-2009, 01:37 PM
The Beast's Avatar
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
The Beast is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seedsorter View Post
Does the 4x4 button on the dash click or do anything when you push it? I know those 4x4 dash switches go bad.
On mine it would click and flash but the 4x4 would not engage at the t-case, it would just look like it at the dash. I disconnected the battery and tapped the cables together and it fixed it.
Not sure if that will work for you, if nothing happens at the dash you may need to get a new 4x4 switch, I don't think they are too expensive.

What do you mean by click? The buttons feel good when i push them, it's not hard like they're jammed nor are they loose feeling. When it's running there's no lights on on any of the buttons no matter which ones I press. I'll try doin what you suggested.

UPDATE: Tried disconnecting the battery for an hour, and touched the cables together after I disconnected them and before I reconnected them and it's still doing the same thing

Last edited by The Beast; 04-04-2009 at 02:49 PM. Reason: UPDATE
  #4  
Old 04-04-2009, 04:37 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,500
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

THIS THREAD has quite a bit of information in it. I would start by verifying that the power is getting to the TCCM and that the switch is working properly (remove it and test resistance values).
  #5  
Old 04-06-2009, 07:22 PM
The Beast's Avatar
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
The Beast is on a distinguished road
Default

I had a tech scan the blazer with a tech2 today to try and read the service 4wd code, but it the truck won't allow it to connect to it. It can scan for engine codes and comes back with nothing but when it tries to go into the chassis, it won't allow it to.......
  #6  
Old 04-06-2009, 09:38 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,500
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you cannot get the scan tool to communicate with the TCCM and you have gone through all of the fuses to make sure that they all are good, then you may have a bad TCCM. Before condemning the TCCM though, run through all of the electrical connections both at the TCCM itself and on the encoder motor under the truck to make sure that there is no corrosion in the plugs.
  #7  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:42 AM
The Beast's Avatar
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
The Beast is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swartlkk View Post
If you cannot get the scan tool to communicate with the TCCM and you have gone through all of the fuses to make sure that they all are good, then you may have a bad TCCM. Before condemning the TCCM though, run through all of the electrical connections both at the TCCM itself and on the encoder motor under the truck to make sure that there is no corrosion in the plugs.
Fuses were the first things I checked and they were all good. Just checked them again though and they're still good. Connections to the tccm are good as well. I'll put it on a lift tonight and check the connections at the encoder motor.

Does the TCCM control the indicator lights on the 4wd switches? The backlights on them work fine.
  #8  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:55 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,500
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

The back light is controlled off of the interior dimming switch. The rest of the lights in the 4wd switch are controlled by the TCCM.
 
 
Closed Thread

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a relay for 4X4? Also bad TCCM or encoder motor Helter80 Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain 3 03-19-2013 04:47 PM
Are S10 TCCM's swappable with a TCCM from a full size? Tinted 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 3 11-29-2011 02:06 PM
99 Blazer bad TCCM? n7nms 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 0 09-10-2010 10:30 AM
TCCM Problem? 88s10Blazer 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 3 01-31-2010 04:28 PM
TCCM WATER WOES TomSB General Tech Help 4 08-19-2006 10:40 PM


Tags
2001, 4wd, 99, blazer, car, codes, fuse, gm, indicator, light, lights, scan, service, tccm, tool, trouble, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.