2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Engine Dies while driving at 55 mph

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2009, 09:42 PM
Flashgp is on a distinguished road
Default Engine Dies while driving at 55 mph

2003 4 door Blazer 4X4 4.3l 89K miles

Drove the 60 miles to Cincinatti today with no problems. Picked up a small trailer (5x8 mesk floor) and started home. This is my first time towing anything with this car. Ran fine on the highway running at 65-70 and for about 25 miles at 55 on two lane black top. Suddenly she loses power and I am coasting to the side of the road. All guages look ok but the batt light is on. There was no hesitation or stubling before this happened. The car started right up and idled fine. I did the usual checks for bad battery connections, oil, tranny fluid, anything that might be an issue when hot. I was 15 miles from home so I decided to try and make it in. I made it another 10 miles and it happened again. This time there was no sholder so I put it in Neutral and restarted it while coasting. I had to turn the key to the off position and then restart. It would not start just retrying with out turning the key off. Thinking that the trailer was the only thing that had changed, I unplugged the trailer lights at the next driveway and started out again. I made it the final 5 miles to home with no more shutdowns. I checked the trailer lights for shorts and verified that the ground thru the plug was good. I took the car and trailer back out for a 20 mile run with no issues. I then took the car out for a 40 mile run with no problems. (After it sat for about an hour while I verified all wires and such were OK)