2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Electric Fuel Pump

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2011, 05:32 AM
dman001948 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Electric Fuel Pump

I have a 2000 Lt Blazer 4.3 4x4. 105K

I would like some advise on this situation. I believe I have a failing fuel pump in the tank. Hard starting and no I have not done a pressure check yet, it just shows all the signs of a failing pump. My question is this: Can I put a electric fuel pump in between the failing pump and the motor? Would this relieve the failing fuel pump and help it out for awhile? I really hate to drop that tank, getting old and lot harder when your old and to have someone else do it is like a grand. I have many doc visits to make at the VA which is 70 miles away one way. (I'm also a disabled vet, so it makes it twice as hard on me to get under there and drop that tank).

If I can do this, where would be the best place to put a electric pump and how would I wire it up?

Thanks for any input.

Last edited by dman001948; 12-14-2011 at 05:33 AM. Reason: addition
Old 12-14-2011, 06:23 AM
Starting Member
dobyken is on a distinguished road

I'm getting old too but still manage to do most things by myself. Hard starting may or may not be the fuel pump. One zero cost thing you can try is turn the key but don't start the car. The fuel pump runs for 2 seconds when you turn the key so by doing that a few times you build up fuel pressure. If it starts OK after that it's an indicator that something in the fuel supply is going bad. If it still starts hard then I'd turn my attention to the ignition system. A fuel pressure gauge is one of those items that's really required to do your own work on newer cars along with a scan tool.

Old 12-14-2011, 05:25 PM