2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Hard shift 1 to 2 gear. with a code p1870

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2013, 08:05 PM
Bobo13 is on a distinguished road
Default Hard shift 1 to 2 gear. with a code p1870

I have a 1999 chevy blazer with a code p1870. Anyone know What code this is? I know its the transmission But idk what part? Is it safe to drive like this? It only hits hard ****fting to second gear.Its seems to only do it when its hot. Its a family car... I really dont wont to take it to the shop and drop all that money. when it could be somthing simple i can fix myself. Anyones help will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Bobo13; 04-18-2013 at 08:40 PM. Reason: im new at this ****
Old 04-18-2013, 08:13 PM
rexazz2 will become famous soon enough

welcome to BF from Canada

I did a google on your error code and this is what poped up

GM service bulletin about code p1870

Old 04-18-2013, 08:22 PM

I already looked at all that I need someone who has had this problem them selves. I done all the research.

Old 04-19-2013, 03:20 AM
BF Veteran
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about

Welcome from Utah.

Check out the DTC section on this site. Great info on what the issue may be or how to fix it.

Old 04-19-2013, 08:02 AM
Steve-o will become famous soon enough

welcome from NC.

Old 04-19-2013, 12:29 PM
BF Veteran
El_Beautor will become famous soon enoughEl_Beautor will become famous soon enough

I had the exact same problem with my '96 when I bought it. You're fine still driving it in the short term, but I would get the problem taken care of soon. Any transmission shop can do it for you, or you could do it yourself.