2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Help! Code P0440

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2017, 03:58 AM
Sculpin is on a distinguished road
Default Help! Code P0440

So I'm new to the Blazer community so hello everyone.
I just bought a 4 door 2001 blazer lt and I'm trying to get saftey and Emissions done but it started throwing the code P0440. It was no surprise to me that it was an evap issue since when I filled up for the first time, as I topped off the tank leaked a bunch of fuel on the ground at the gas station. I assumed it was the vent hose, check it out and it was a little loose so I tightened it, cleared the code, but it came back.

Any thought on on what's going on? Is this a common problem that perhaps you guys are aware of?

thank you in advance!

Old 04-23-2017, 04:49 PM

I've got some more info for you guys. So I checked my gas cap (should of done that first, I know) and the o-ring on it was all cracked up. I bought a new one, cleared the code and am now waiting to see if it pops back up again (I assume it will).

I also needed to put some fuel in, so I just but $20 in the tank (3/4 full) and there were no leaks at all.