2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Help with rear disc brakes

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2018, 03:45 PM
Beginning Member
Krmnnghia is on a distinguished road
Default Help with rear disc brakes

Working on a 2000 Bravada. Complaint of rear brake noise. Both calipers were completely locked up and grinding away. Replaced the rear caliper, pads, and rubber lines. When Disconnecting the factory rubber lines I was getting fluid out of the hard lines on both sides. Went to bleed the system and I can get barely any fluid to come out of both of them. With the bleeders closed, the pistons are not moving.

Possibly have a clogged hard line somewhere?
Both new calipers or both new rubber lines are bad?
Something I am missing because I have never done brakes on this car before?

Thanks!

Old 03-18-2018, 05:46 PM
BF Veteran
Tom A will become famous soon enough

The last time I saw those symptoms, somebody had put ATF in the master cylinder and ruined every rubber part in the brake system. Hopefully that's not what you're dealing with.

Old 03-18-2018, 06:45 PM
Beginning Member

Originally Posted by Tom A
The last time I saw those symptoms, somebody had put ATF in the master cylinder and ruined every rubber part in the brake system. Hopefully that's not what you're dealing with.
WOW. Yah that is definitely not what is going on here. I am the only one that ever does work on this vehicle.

Reading some threads here a lot of folks are saying to gravity bleed both new calipers for roughly 5 minutes. I had not attempted that yet so I will do it tonight and see what happens. I did pump the brakes a few times in my attempt to bleed them so hopefully I don't have an issue after that.

Old 03-19-2018, 02:19 AM
BF Veteran
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough