2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Intake Manifold Gaskets and Timing Chain Cover/Oil Pan questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2011, 11:23 PM
Beginning Member
99blklt4wd is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Intake Manifold Gaskets and Timing Chain Cover/Oil Pan questions

I am going to be replacing my intake manifold gaskets soon and I see there are two types of Felpro gaskets, one set being $30 and the other set being $72, I assume the $30 ones are the type I used 5 years ago when I replaced them the first time. Has anyone used the $72 set of Felpro gaskets ? Results? Opinions?

Also I see there is a Victor Reinz intake set for similar pricing, has anybody used them, I never heard of them and I have been doing my own work for 20 years.

Now for the timing cover question, my GM service manual recommends removing oil pan (and lowering front differential) before timing cover, I know I have changed timing covers on small block v8's and older Z block 4.3's with out removing but just lowering the oil pan.

Can I just lower the oil pan and get timing cover out of the W engine?

Can I reuse the oil pan gasket once I loosen it up?

I am replacing the timing cover as suggested since it is only $30, I already have a front crank seal oil leak

Leaks everywhere I know

Old 12-11-2011, 09:42 AM
Starting Member
red06sc is on a distinguished road

Are you talking about the Fel-Pro MS98002T Prmdry kit? If so the reviews are great, and thats what ill be using. Just a tip...Go to advance auto parts website and use the code VISA and it takes $30 off, which leaves you at $49.99. This is for the intake only.

Old 12-11-2011, 08:07 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough