2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Link Error when trying to pull codes on 95 blazer

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2005, 11:49 AM
gmyoyo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Link Error when trying to pull codes on 95 blazer

Hi folks, I'm a newbie to the chevy forums and just recently purchased a 96 blazer for my son. Well, the service engine soon light came on. Already having been familiar with this concept I ran by Autozone to pull the codes.

Here's the problem: When he hooked the ODBII to my blazer it came back with a link error. After trying several times and testing the ODBII on another vehicle we checked fuses and the pins of the connector in my dash. No luck. Anybody out there that can shed some light on what I should do next to get engine codes would be appreciated.

I will attempt to do most of this myself and only take it to a shop when I find that I can't find and/or fix the problem myself.

By the way. It does not seem to be idling rough (vacuum leak), but I'm not going to eliminate anything until I start to hear from some of you veteran owners.

Old 03-29-2005, 12:14 PM
Administrator
Patrick has disabled reputation
Default RE: Link Error when trying to pull codes on 96 blazer

hmm..while working as a technician, i saw communication errors because of (usually) one of two things..
1. because the battery had recently been disconnected. on the older OBD cars, you could clear your codes by disconnecting the battery, but the new OBDII vehicles have a re-learn period where it reruns everything to check fior errors, thus relatively elinimating the ability to wipe codes clear that way.
2. the OBD computer is going south...i have not seen it happen in a blazer or chevy, for that matter, but i have seen it happen in a focus, and in a 3000GT...

hopefully it is the first one, because the second can prove to be a nightmare...do you live in a federal emission state?