2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

My PO300 Experience

Old 09-22-2010, 10:05 AM
Beginning Member
High_Speed is on a distinguished road
Default My PO300 Experience

Hey gang, relatively new user around here, but I've been browsing and reading a lot since aquiring my 2001 Blazer 4dr LT (4x4). I think I got a pretty good deal on it, considering it's got 100k and was showing a service engine light with the dreaded PO300 that nobody could seem to track down the cause of.

I wanted to share with the community what we eventually found to resolve the PO300, since in my researching and googling I have yet to see this as a culprit for someone else. Thought MAYBE this might help someone someday in their search for a resolution to their own PO300.

Anyway, the truck seemed to run just fine, but the service engine light stayed on, and when under heavy load at around 55mph (or higher) and 2500 RPM (or higher) the light would actually begin flashing.

Well, we went over the whole truck with a fine tooth comb (particularly 3 mechanics and myself), and of course opinions from even more mechanics. Scanner showed some serious misfiring in cylinders 1 and 4, but compression was good on all. Fuel pressure tested fine (but we'll get to that in a minute).

Well anyway, the plugs were pulled and were practically burnt up, so they were replaced. The wires didn't look bad, and no arching was noticed with the lights off, but nonetheless replaced them anyway. Did notice that one wire has some rust like foulage that matched up the to distributor cap. Replaced the cap and rotor as well, and the cap did have fouling on cylinders 1 and 4 (which seemed to go with what the scanner told us).
The fuel filter needed replaced anyway, so replaced it as well. Also, no vaccum leaks could be found either.