2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

My steering wheel is loose is this dangerous?

Old 03-15-2010, 11:52 PM
Beginning Member
vze4yrte is on a distinguished road
Default My steering wheel is loose is this dangerous?

the steering on my truck is loose .. im a new driver and when i go to switch lanes i wanan ease into the lane but with the loose steering the front wheels wont respond until i move the wheel a couple inches and at that point i end up like somewhat swirving more ... how can i fix it?

and secondly the passenger seat doesnt recline the handle was broken off so i can move the seat to adjust it comfortably for my back .,. how can i fix this?

Thanks guys .. the truck is been great its drives great transmission shift quietly and the heat blows hot air and its so hot i can nearly cook an egg thru a vent

Old 03-16-2010, 07:50 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

With the engine off, but the transmission in neutral (chock the rear wheels to keep the truck from rolling), have a helper turn the steering wheel side to side while you watch the steering linkages. Start by watching where the steering shaft connects to the steering gear box. There is a rag joint connection that can swell and get spongy if it gets oily.