2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Mysterious vacuum line

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2011, 04:32 PM
Beginning Member
BB3439 is on a distinguished road
Default Mysterious vacuum line

I'm a new member to this forum... Last summer I bought a '99 Blazer to replace my failed '99 GrandAm and failing F250 4x4 (killing 2 birds with 1 stone). The Blazer has 160k miles and was bought through an auction.

I'm no stranger to working on cars, I've been doing most of my own car maintenance for the past 40 years. I might be frugal, but I'm no dummy.

Now to my problem:
While poking around under the hood just after buying the Blazer, I noticed that a ~1/8" vacuum hose that runs along the drivers' side firewall had an open end just after it tees off near the cruise control. The hose also makes a bend just before the end.

Logic tells me that it should connect to something close by, but for the life of me, I cannot seem to find its home.

I've looked at the simple vacuum schematics and about the only thing that comes close to answering my question is that it likely has its end at the EVAP canister (which I cannot locate, either).

The line is currently just plugged off until I can find where it goes.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 02-09-2011, 05:53 PM
BF Guru
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute

A picture would help.

Old 02-09-2011, 06:02 PM
Starting Member
jbsnowboarder16 is on a distinguished road