2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Push-Button 4wd issues...

Old 08-18-2013, 04:19 PM
BugOutNow is on a distinguished road
Default Push-Button 4wd issues...

Brace yourselves for another noob question that has probably been answered before, but I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. I'm a novice at best so the slightest variation in someone else's story from mine throws me off.

Ok, so I have a 2001 Blazer LT with push-button 4wd. 4-5 years ago the dash switch went out. I replaced it and all was good for a few months. Then, after not using the 4wd all winter, I tried to put it in 4hi and the button wouldn't even light up. The 4lo button would blink for a few seconds but wouldn't engage and then the 2hi button lit back up. The automatic 4wd button wouldn't light up at all. I didn't hear anything trying to engage either. I figured that it was the dash switch again, so I replaced it, but the problem persisted.

Sooooooo.... I didn't mess with it for a few years and then I decided to let a family friend take a look at it. The term "Shade Tree Mechanic" is giving this guy too much credit, but a free opinion is a free opinion. He told me that my TCCM needed to be replaced. I have no idea what he did or didn't check or how he went about his diagnosis. He wanted something like $500 bucks to replace it. I found the parts on ebay for like $50 but he said that the part has to be programed by a dealer. I found some TCCMs online that were around $200 but supposedly didn't need to be programmed and they claimed that they had "fixed" the notorious S10 TCCM issues. They weren't rebuilds, but newly fabricated parts that were built differently from the OE parts. I can't seem to find them online now that I feel comfortable enough to start routing around inside the truck though.

I've been watching videos and reading hundreds of posts and concluded that I need to check...