2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Radiator hose hole and now fuel too lean...

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2007, 01:51 AM
BlazerDaughter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Radiator hose hole and now fuel too lean...

Hello all! I fell in love with Blazers when my Dad bought his 2wd in 2003.

My Blazer is a 2000 4WD 2dr 4.3 V6 auto trans. Bought it used in Oct of 06. It has 106,000 odd miles on it.

Here's what's going on, any help is appreciated as I am a home mechanic-in-training!
I drove it to MI from NC for the Christmas holiday. Trip there was no problem, Blazer ran perfectly (why I love her). In MI, we replaced the rear brakes because they were worn down and were squealing. Unknown to me, my brother was under the hood. He noticed the upper radiator hose was weak, but never told me! He also topped the coolant off, but (also unknown to me) he added the green stuff on top of my Dex-cool. The dex-cool is (was) in good shape up to this point, except for the res tank being a bit low.

Well, on the way back to NC, we get a hole in the upper radiator hose, after about 600 miles on the road. My Service Engine Soon light came on and we decided to pull over, needed gas anyway. As we pull in andI park and turn off the truck, white steamy smoke(?) comes out of the hood. We see it's the hose, and it gets replaced.

Now the hose is fixed, but I haven't driven it much in the last 2 weeks. When I do, I was getting the Engine light again. I took it to Advanced and hooked it to the scanner. I'm getting codes P0171 and P0174 saying the fuel is too lean.

Before the hose problem, I had no problems with her and she ran like a dream. Now these codes and the RPM's seem higher than normal. Are these two problems related? What do I do about the fuel leanness?

Sorry about the length, and thanks for any help.

Old 01-22-2007, 01:59 AM
BF Veteran