2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

4wd won't work

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2011, 08:04 AM
Grenkepr is on a distinguished road
Default 4wd won't work

I have a 99 LT that has been sitting for 2 years. Have it running good now, but have intermittant 4wd problems. Occasionally the service 4wd light comes on and the 4wd panel lights don't come on. If I put the vehicle in neutral shut it off and restart, the service light goes off and the panel lights come on as they should to show me which range I am operating in. I can hear 2-3 clicks in the dash on the passenger side when it is operating as it should. These clicks happen whem I change ranges. However, the 4wd drive will not engage at any time or in any range. I am new to this vehicle, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Old 01-12-2011, 10:37 AM
johnwalt75 is on a distinguished road

I'm having a 4wd problem too. I have a 2002 LT with 143k miles. When I push the 4-hi button, I hear the solenoid click, but the fr. Diff doesn't engage. The red light just flashes. No service 4wd idiot light. Any advice will be great! Thanks!

Old 01-12-2011, 06:34 PM
Starting Member
1998MSO is on a distinguished road

Don't know for sure on that one but you both should use the search feature of this forum because I know it's been covered a lot by other users.
Good luck!

Old 01-13-2011, 06:12 AM
Administrator
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation

Have either of you checked the fuse in the panel for the 4wd? The switches are known to be a weak point, and would act like what both of you have posted. The switch is 35 at the dealer from what I remember.

Old 01-13-2011, 06:23 AM

Thanks hillbillyinohio. Know nothing about a blazer. I'm an old corvette nut. The fuse is ok, Where is this switch located.

Old 01-13-2011, 10:17 AM
madcow246 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by johnwalt75