2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Ruling out the Passlock

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2012, 06:52 AM
kwilli is on a distinguished road
Default Ruling out the Passlock

I have a 99 Blazer LS 4.3 with no-start issues. It turns over but won't crank. The security light blinks when I open the door but goes out after putting the key in the ignition and turning it on. I can hear the fuel pump prime when I slightly turn the key to the crank position, but not enough to turn over, the fuel pump also runs for a couple seconds after I turn the key off. I'm no mechanic so I'm trying to rule out the passlock before diving deeper in the fuel system. I've had a few problems in the past with cranking but she always ended up firing eventually. I just changed the plugs and distributor cap last summer, so I don't think it's a spark issue. ALso, does being able to hear the fuel pump rule that out as well? Or can you still hear a malfunctioning fuel pump? I haven't checked fuel pressure yet.

Old 12-27-2012, 11:27 AM
Beginning Member
m0perale is on a distinguished road

Is the battery fully charged? (At least 12 volts)

You said you changed the cap and plugs... did you not change the rotor? or wires?

Fuel pump should run for about 2 seconds with key on engine off, and then another 2 when you turn it off.

Next step, fuel system diagnosis, would be here: https://blazerforum.com/forum/tech-a...agnosis-23038/

These are things I'd check, anyway.

Old 12-27-2012, 11:28 AM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

If/when Passlock detects a theft situation, the security light will stay on, the engine will start, the PCM will disable the fuel injectors, and the engine will stall, usually within 2 seconds. Sounds like Passlock is not the issue with yours.