2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Sunroof won't close (and opens too far)

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2019, 07:23 AM
Starting Member
TonyZR2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sunroof won't close (and opens too far)

Have read all of the numerous posts regarding this, yet there doesn't seem to be any clear nor common solution to my problem. The other day I opened it, but it went too far to rear and was stuck inside. Pushing switch to close, made no sound or movement. Pushing switch to open, it keeps making a heavy clicking noise. Reaching in to pull it manually while pushing switch to close.......it came out and stopped dead at about 2" closed, with no more noise if continuing to push switch.

My side windows work normally. There are no codes. I've been greasing the mechanism for several years (without removing the glass). Can't see any obstruction along the rails.

With repeated fiddling of switch while pulling on glass.....it would then go to about 35% closed. I saw it was closing a bit lazy on one side, so was tilted a bit. Pulling on the lazy side of glass eventually got it to close about 75%. It always seems to only get stuck at one of those three points. Wherever it does stop......it's sudden, with no further noise. Also, I did remove the console and tried jumpering the contacts inside the harness plug. But that only did the same thing the switch did.