2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Transmission toast?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2019, 07:56 PM
Beginning Member
peenar is on a distinguished road
Default Transmission toast?

So I noticed after I put my 96 sl back on the road, that the trans had a bit of delayed engagement. Checked the fluid, it was fine. Was running fine for. Couple of weeks.

Today heading home and I slowly lost acceleration till I pulled over and put it park. then was smoking from the trans and sounded like shot Bearings.

I wasn't far from home so tried to drive like 10kph, I had no gears. After being fine for 2 weeks this all of a sudden happens. I re checked the fluid and phew it did not smell good

Old 02-11-2019, 08:20 PM
BF Veteran
cleburne red will become famous soon enough

I'm no transmission expert, but sounds like it's time for a rebuild, to me

Old 02-12-2019, 10:10 AM
go chevy is on a distinguished road

I would agree, sounds like the Tranny is shot... This past summer my Tranny kicked the bucket, lost high gear, could only run about 30mph. My local shop wanted $800 to rebuild it but I found a used 1 in a junk yard for $300 and saved a bunch of money...

Old 02-12-2019, 10:16 AM
BF Veteran

Originally Posted by go chevy
I would agree, sounds like the Tranny is shot... This past summer my Tranny kicked the bucket, lost high gear, could only run about 30mph. My local shop wanted $800 to rebuild it but I found a used 1 in a junk yard for $300 and saved a bunch of money...
That's really cheap for a rebuild. Shops around me were wanting $1400 to rebuild mine.

Luckily, my massive leak was just the cooler lines, and not the front seal like I thought. R&R to replaced the seal was $600, and I figured if it's out, might as well have it rebuilt.

Old 02-12-2019, 10:26 AM

Originally Posted by cleburne red
That's really cheap for a rebuild. Shops around me were wanting $1400 to rebuild mine.