2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Trouble Starting 2000 Blazer

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2006, 09:32 PM
dcjones is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Trouble Starting 2000 Blazer

I have a 2000 Blazer with 70K miles. When the blazer is cold (first time it is started for the day) it starts just fine. It starts as soon as I turn the key over. The trouble comes when I drive it 15 to 30 minutes and it sits for a little. When I get back in and try to start it, I have to hold the key in the start position a lot longet as the engine cranks for a while and eventually starts. I am not a mechanic but when it is cranking it seems like it is not getting fuel. It has a new battery. I replaced the fuel filter (I thought I would try that first since it was an inexpensive first step and it had never been changed) but it is still doing it. It starts just fine when the engine is cold. I only have trouble when the engine is warm. Another thing is that the fuel gauge does not work. It does not go below 1/4 tank and with the blazer in park the needle bounces between E and F. I know this problem is caused by the fuel sensing unit which is part of the fuel pump assembly. Could failure in one part of the fuel pump assemble mean the whole thing is going bad and that is what is causing my starting problem?

Old 01-17-2006, 02:58 PM
BF Veteran
Hanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Trouble Starting 2000 Blazer

Let me get back to you on this.