2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Unique (?) Heating Issue

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2017, 12:46 PM
okiesho is on a distinguished road
Default Unique (?) Heating Issue

Hello all! I'm "new" to the forum. I've been combing through the threads whenever I need helpful tech info, but this is my first time posting.

I have a heating issue (surprise, surprise). My heater comes on hot once the truck is warmed up only if I haven't used it in a while. Then after about 10-15 secs of hot air it begins cooling off!

I've recently had my radiator replaced, and this issue began immediately afterwards. When I was leaving the shop I realized I had no heat at all. I took my truck back to the shop, and they said there's no air trapped in the cooling system. They did, however, notice the coolant leaving the heater core was substantially cooler than the coolant going in. They recommended replacing the heater core.

Well, I consider myself a "thrifty" guy that can turn a wrench. So, I found out how to flush the heater core on this forum. The next chance I got I flushed the heater core by running water through it backwards and forwards until clean water came out. Then I put fresh Dexcool until it flowed out of the heater core return. Then I ran the truck for a while (10-15min after warm) with the heater all the way on and the radiator cap off while reving the engine and occasionally squeezing hoses. Lastly I topped off the coolant in the radiator and in the overflow (to the hot line). Then put the radiator cap back on.

Wouldn't you know it! The heat worked for about 2min... Then it cooled off. Now I have the issue I described in the beginning where the heater will blow hot for a little bit, then cool off.

Help! It's gonna get very cold again soon in Oklahoma!!!

Last edited by okiesho; 01-10-2017 at 12:46 PM. Reason: typo
Old 01-10-2017, 01:50 PM
Super Moderator