2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

1995 Blazer Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2009, 09:32 PM
Rowdus90 is on a distinguished road
Default 1995 Blazer Suspension

Folks, I've owned my Blazer now for about 3 years, bought it with ~150K & now i'm up to ~185K. The thing runs like a champ, Tranny is getting a little sluggish but that's to be expected @ the milage it has.

I'm looking to pro-long the life of this vehicle & one thing I've noticed lately is the suspension has become very poor, not responsive, sways in and out of corners & squeaks like something i've never heard before.

I'm far from a mechanic but so far have done everything to the vehicle which was necessary. I have the facillities to do any major repairs, but I wouldn't call upgrading the suspension major.

My question to you blazer pro's is should I be looking for new shocks, leaf springs or both at this stage of the vehicles life? I would imagine shocks are in order but are leaf springs necessary?

If shocks or leaf springs are the ticket what brand would you prescibe? i'm not looking for top notch, remember the vehicle has nearly 200K on it but I want something that works well on & off road.

Also, is it possible to put a cheap 1 or 2 inch body lift on it? nothing crazy just to give it a little aggresive edge, although maybe adding new shocks will get it off the ground a bit more as well?

for the record, the model is a 2 door 4x4, tire's in the cabin & 4 wheel drive engage is on the floor.

Any input will be greatly apreciated.

Thanks,
Dustin

Old 11-06-2009, 02:36 AM
Taymacjack is an unknown quantity at this point

sup dustin.