2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

95 jimmy wont start

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2013, 08:50 PM
carteram is on a distinguished road
Default 95 jimmy wont start

Hello im new to all this but I was seeing if someone could help im left scratching my head on this one. Ok so I have a 1995 gmc jimmy with the 4.3 vortec when I first got the rig it idled real ruff and loaded up but would clear out once you opened it up but I ran it like that because its my woods ride and didn't really care so I decided to give the ol girl a tune up and put new filter plugs wires cap and rotor button and new oil thinking that would clear her up but didn't do anything still same ol ruff idle so I kept riding her like and one day it started missing real bad around 3k so I got it home and pulled the plugs to find the left side plugs were black from running ritch but the ride side were a nice golden brown like they were spost to be so I put them back and the thing has not hit once every since then I have replaced the coil the tps sensor the map sensor the coolant temp sensor and still nothing wont hit a lick it has fire and did a compression check and all cylinders have right around 120psi and wont hit off starting fluid so I took the upper plenum off to find that the fuel pressure regulator was bad and washing out the lower intake so I replaced that and still nothing wont hit at all. So I could use all the help I can get

Old 12-30-2013, 09:41 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

1995 had 3 different possibilities of 4.3L engines. Does your engine look like this?

Name:  CMFI.jpg
Views: 2522
Size:  73.5 KB

Old 12-31-2013, 12:12 AM

Yeah thats her

Old 12-31-2013, 08:22 AM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough