2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

bleeding brake

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2009, 05:43 PM
suoabb is on a distinguished road
Default bleeding brake

noob here,
my brother has a 96 blazer 4 wheel drive sedan w/abs.
last week i decided to do his maintence for him, since he hasn't done one since he got it other than oil changes and those stuffs.
i changed his spark plugs, spark plugs wires, dis. roter and cap.
and i also wanted to change his front brake and bleed his brake fluids, (he said he hasn't changed his brakes since he got the car, over 10yrs ago. wow)

well i took the front tires/rotor out and attempt to bleed the brake fluid with the rotor out and well the piston on the calipers shoot out and brake fluid leaked out on both caliper draining all the fluid out of the resover. i went to autozone to get 2 rebuilt calipers
i went to bleed all the brakes by loosening all the bleeder bolt on all four wheel. then after fluid has been dripping out of the bolt for while, i when ahead and had my brother push on the brake when i loosen the bolt and then tighten it, to get all the air out.
i did it to all four side, with the new brake rotors/pad on.
now the front brake seem to be okay but it doesn't grab in the rear.
the rear brake hasn't been changed for since he go it. but it didn't cause him any problems before i try to change the brakes.

this car have abs and on top of the abs box near master cylinder, i knowtice two bleeder bolt, so i was wondering if i need to bleed this part too? cause i knowtice that the brake lines is connected btwn the master cylinder and the abs box, and am thinking that there is air in that abs box.
my bro. took it to mech. and they told him to take it to the dealer.

i hope someone can help me out, i feel really bad i cause this problem for him. he had to change his abs a while ago and it cost him like 2g.

Old 05-08-2009, 07:22 PM
Administrator