Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech (https://blazerforum.com/forum/2nd-generation-s-series-1995-2005-tech-41/)
-   -   Problems filling / P0453 (https://blazerforum.com/forum/2nd-generation-s-series-1995-2005-tech-41/problems-filling-p0453-32418/)

jstein 07-08-2009 12:37 PM

Problems filling / P0453

Hi everyone,

I know both of these have been somewhat covered but I am at a loss here. I have been driving around for approx 2 months with a P0453 code. I only discovered this was the code about a week ago when I borrowed a friends OBD II reader. When I filled up my car about 2 weeks ago the pump kept shutting off. I blamed it on a faulty pump and continued to (painfully) fill the car. This afternoon I tried filling up again and it took me 5 min to get 2.5 gallons in the tank. Every time I squirted a little gas in it would back up (even when holding the nozzle partially out). I can see the fuel slowly draining down the fill hose. The fuel pump was replaced this past Feb. Ever since it was replaced I will get hard starts from time to time. If it doesn't start on the first ignition turn it always turns over on the 2nd. Any suggestions? I'm really lost here and I can't keep filling up this way!

bandidolenny 07-08-2009 02:17 PM

There is a check ball with a spring inside the hose, right where the large fill hose attaches to the gas tank. Sounds to me like the ball is stuck in there somehow and preventing gas from entering the tank... probably happened when the pump was changed.
I would try to remove the hose and look up into it and see whats going on... if this proves to be difficult to do, you may have to drop the tank.

jstein 07-08-2009 03:26 PM

You have a valid point with the valve, however, I do not recall seeing this inside the fill hose. Wouldn't a check valve not allow you to siphon gas out of the tank?

bandidolenny 07-08-2009 03:44 PM