2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

rearend shake

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2012, 09:48 PM
Starting Member
_HeC_ is on a distinguished road
Default rearend shake

99 4x4 jimmy is the vehicle...

when driving i feel my back passenger wheel shake, a guy from my work was behind me and said he could see it shake :S when reversing it into the garage i could hear a noise from that corner as well.... now this is my first time working on a RWD/4x4 so what am i looking at here? axle bearing?

Old 01-11-2012, 09:53 PM
Esty is on a distinguished road

First check your lugs make sure there tight
check for a bubble in the tire or if the tire is out of round
if that is all good then pull the wheel drun/rotor and see what the problem is yes it could be axle bearing but you need to check it over first

Old 01-11-2012, 09:58 PM
BF Veteran
Rottidog has a spectacular aura aboutRottidog has a spectacular aura about

Maybe just loose lug nuts. I'd check those 1st of all but it could be the outer or inner bearing (hope it's the outer) or a warped rotor.
if when you're backing up nice n slow you can hear it.... it could be a bearing if it's a constant grinding/warble sound. If it's rotational & predictable then I'd say something with the brakes. But niether always hold true.

Damn cell phone lol. Esty beat me to the check list lol
A sidewall bubble shouldn't make a noise, just a wobble. But a wobble over time will cause a bearing to fail faster.

Last edited by Rottidog; 01-11-2012 at 10:00 PM.
Old 01-12-2012, 05:35 AM
Starting Member

I should mention all 4 rims are freshly balanced with no bubbles or loose lugs. Am I gonna have to remove the diff cover to check the axle bearing?

I should mention my truck has 05 rearend with the G80 locker if that matters

*edit* also rear calipers/rotors/pads are new and have maybe 2 tanks of gas on them

Last edited by _HeC_; 01-12-2012 at 06:54 AM.