Builds Whether you are building something new or rebuilding something old, post up your build threads here. Open to all projects!

"Blue" - The 2002 GMC Jimmy SLS 4 Door

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2022, 02:43 AM
SFP
Beginning Member
SFP is on a distinguished road
Default "Blue" - The 2002 GMC Jimmy SLS 4 Door

Let me start by stating this thread may take years to complete. So will the build.

Backstory.

A few weeks back my trusty 1991 Volvo 240 Wagon (named Trinity - from the Matrix) had a brake failure. I own I have been putting that car through construction/reno trade use hell the past two years. See I am a professional photography - portrait, commercial photography with 40+ percent of my work dealing with the music industry (mostly punk, rock and metal). Covid hits, all my work dries up, I started doing construction work to pay the bills. Now I also own a 1981 GMC Sierra Grande 2500 Camper Special - but he's off the road slowly being restored and well covid eh, so zero extra money for truck parts. I love my Volvo. She offroads really well due to the factory ground clearance, has a 5 speed that I love, can turn like nothing else (how tight a corner she can make) - no she is not a 4x4, but I get places the guys in decked out Jeeps riding on 37's always are stunned to see me at. I can sleep in her, she carries all my photography gear well, is a blast to drive, good on gas. She also has 483,496 KM on her. At the time of the brake problem I have been waiting two and a half months for front brake calipers (did I mention Covid f***s things up including supply chains?), was waiting on new driver side door internals and in need of a new blower fan.

So I parked her.