Builds Whether you are building something new or rebuilding something old, post up your build threads here. Open to all projects!

2001 Blazer 4x4 project Rigger Mortis

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2011, 01:23 PM
Beginning Member
BlazinAmazin is on a distinguished road
Default 2001 Blazer 4x4 project Rigger Mortis

OK, I bought this beautiful truck back in November of 2010. It had 149,000 miles, but it was well taken care of. All new front end parts, new tires and brakes. I suspect a new tranny as well. Went to look at a 98, the same color, they sold it, but told me on the phone it was there, then they gave me this one for the same price. I test drove it, and the temperature pegged within 3 traffic lights! So I limped it back, they promised to fix it, and still sell it to me at the agreed price. they were lucky I am a mechanic, and knew how to limp home an overheated car, or they would have been out major repairs. As it was, it was just a radiator, they put a new one in, I've been happily driving it ever since.

Here's what it looked like when I got it :

So far, I have only done minor things. A set of step bars to load up the Kayaks, and got rid of the UGLY Oldsmobile Bravada left over rims! (Hate that Chevy ever used them) Got some used decent rims for $100 The previous owner of the Blazer had the white letters turned in, I corrected that mistake, and put the white letters out as they should be!

As she sits now :

I just picked up some S10 steelies that I intend to shoot gunmetal gray metallic, and get some bigger tires.

I'm going to keep two sets of wheels for it, highway tires, and off road tires on the steelies.

This is what I'm going to put on the roof!

Soon I want to do the following

2" rear shackles
T-Bar crank
replace the hitch
remove wheel moulding

I have other ideas, but keeping it simple for now. Just put on my Thule kayak rack this morning!

Last edited by BlazinAmazin; 04-09-2011 at 07:17 PM.
Old 04-09-2011, 01:28 PM
Beginning Member