Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Builds (https://blazerforum.com/forum/builds-48/)
-   -   My first Chevy! (https://blazerforum.com/forum/builds-48/my-first-chevy-73244/)

TheWrecker 08-24-2012 08:23 PM

My first Chevy!

1 Attachment(s)
Hey everyone. Now I'm kinda new to this whole thread thing, if I make a mistake, help me by pointing it out. Alright, Now down to business!
I recently came across an '86 Chevy K5 Blazer. It was hidden behind a couple Prius's at our Toyota dealership. God I hate those hamsters on wheels!
Anyways! I took it off their hands for a minor 4700. Had a newly rebuilt 5.7L V8 350 with less than 56,000 miles on it. New transmission, 33" tires with only bout 100 miles on them, rebuilt rear end and a brand new paint job. For the price and low amount of rust, it was a steal!
Attachment 9895
Now that I had it home I had the chance to check it out a bit more in detail. Found some quarter sized rust spots in the bed of the truck. Don't have any pictures of it, but I will get some soon!
Now begins the journey for it to live up to her name; The Wrecker!
I'll keep you posted!

warthogdriver 08-24-2012 09:14 PM

for 4700 it looks like you got a great deal.
did you drive it over the prius's as you left?

TheWrecker 08-24-2012 10:02 PM

Haha. It was a great deal! And no, but someone was pulling out of the dealership as I pulled out, and I tended to rev my engine as they gave me that go to hell look, and flipped them off haha.

TheWrecker 08-24-2012 10:09 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Okay. So I just beat the sun! Got a few more pictures on things that I'm about to fix. First off, here's a picture of the rebuilt 5.7L 350 V8Attachment 9896
Now to the editing haha. I noticed as I was driving it around that it rubs quite some on turns. So I figure I better investigate before it eats up my tires, and sure enough!
Attachment 9898
I found the culprit!