Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Transmission (https://blazerforum.com/forum/engine-transmission-35/)
-   -   1984 2.8 removal and replacement (https://blazerforum.com/forum/engine-transmission-35/1984-2-8-removal-replacement-96103/)

SgtSquishySquash 01-12-2018 03:51 PM

1984 2.8 removal and replacement

Ok so I have found a donor 2.8 to replace the one I have now in my 84 s10 blazer 4x4. Only running me 300 bucks. My plan is to pull the messed up motor (oil starved and really bad knock) and throw this one in there after replacing some gaskets and cheap parts just to get her back on the road. After doing that I plan on doing a complete rebuild on the original 2.8. This means i get my truck right back on the road, and have plenty of time to rebuild the originaI one. I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE IN REBUILDING MOTORS! That being said the original motor will be my "lesson".
I am mechanically inclined.
I do most of my own mechanic work.
I used to repair Jets while I was active duty in The Marine Corps.
Dumb it down for me please on pulling and swapping the 2.8's but don't treat me like a toddler lol.
Tips? Tricks? Dos and Don'ts?
Once I finish the swap phase of this project, I'll make another topic on tips for the rebuild. Or I'll build a 3.4 instead and drop that in there.
I know I am doing the work twice this way as far as pulling the motor and putting one in it. But this is so I get my blazer back on the road asap, and have more time to pull more overtime to fund the 2.8 rebuild or a 3.4 build. Thanks folks.

odat 01-13-2018 04:12 PM

First thank you for your service

Depending on what the donor motor came out of, If it was a 2wd or a car the oil pan and oil pump pick up will have to be changed out from the old motor, different configuration with the 4wd for the front diff. Also check the oil filter mount they can vary also

SgtSquishySquash 01-13-2018 04:23 PM