Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

MAJOR problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013 | 09:51 AM
|
98BlazerZR2 is on a distinguished road
Angry MAJOR problems

so my blazer has been acting up lately, started with a cyl 6 misfire which after a tune up did not correct itself. i have been driving it that way for about 2 months, (bad i know).

christmas eve i was driving to my parents house and i stopped at a red light, when it turned green i gave my truck gas and it jerked forward, and was extremely slow to accelerate, and did not want to switch gears.

i havnt driven it in over a week because it tops out at 25 mph, does not want to switch gears, and runs like crap. i have transmission fluid, it runs like crap after heating up still. im lost and dont know what to do, it may be time for me to buy a new car if i cant get it running again.

Old 01-06-2013 | 10:30 AM
1sttimejimmyowner is on a distinguished road

I would start by changing the fluid and filter then go from there.If problems persist we can go more into diagnostic of what the problem is.

Old 01-06-2013 | 10:44 AM
|
98BlazerZR2 is on a distinguished road

Is it difficult to switch out the fluid/filter? I'm not that handy and my trucks in a gravel driveway with a foot of snow on the ground lol

Old 01-07-2013 | 06:39 AM
Starting Member
Rumblur is on a distinguished road

a problem that serious is not fluid/filter. First, go to autozone/advanced whoever and get the codes read. Find out what the truck is saying. Then go from there.

Old 01-07-2013 | 09:20 AM
Smile

Originally Posted by 98BlazerZR2
Is it difficult to switch out the fluid/filter? I'm not that handy and my trucks in a gravel driveway with a foot of snow on the ground lol

When I was 38 I had a broken leg and there was 1ft of snow on the ground.I shoveled enough snow to get under my truck and change the filter and fluid.