Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

New here, engine running rough

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2018, 09:43 PM
Alexcrisp2 is on a distinguished road
Default New here, engine running rough

Hey everyone! I'm new to this forum. I've been a technician for a few years and im stuck on my newly acquired 2002 Blazer 2wd with 131000 miles on it. When I traded it for my old truck I noticed it ran pretty rough. Did a tune up on it. Plugs,wires,cap,rotor, fuel filter. It's running better but still rough at warm idle. At stops in and out of gear it idles ~500rpm and shakes the rig. I've clearned throttlebody and MAF, to no avail. Temperature has been double checked, coil obviously works or else it wouldn't run. It doesn't sound like a vacuum leak. Battery SOC is good-okay. What are some options I have to see if I can make it run a bit better? BTW. I need to add that the old fart who had it before me decided to run 20/50 in it for about 12000 miles.

Old 12-26-2018, 10:44 AM
Strangerock is on a distinguished road

how good of shape is the crappy factory plastic distributor and have you checked fuel pressure ?, I'm guessing it doesn't log miss fires in the computer...

Old 12-26-2018, 11:09 AM
BF Veteran
christine_208 will become famous soon enough

These trucks are known for being very finicky with regard to the use of AC Delco ignition parts, especially the rotor and distributor cap. They are also known for having vacuum leaks due to physical deterioration of the several vacuum lines in the engine compartment. I even saw a post where the problem with poor running was all due to the crank-case ventilation tube being disconnected from the rear-facing side of the throttle-body snorkel.

And ditto on checking the fuel pressure.

I'm sure you don't have to be told to check the easy stuff first!

Old 12-27-2018, 05:20 PM