Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

1987 K5 (GMC Jimmy) Lift and Tire Options

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2014, 09:07 AM
waltjensen is on a distinguished road
Default 1987 K5 (GMC Jimmy) Lift and Tire Options

Hey gang. I'm new to the full size blazer scene. Truck is actually a 1987 GMC Jimmy, 4wd. Purchased it already lifted; it has lift springs up front and 2" blocks in the rear, and 33x12.5x15 tires.

I'm looking to remove the blocks in the rear to 'fix' the lift. It is also in desperate need of new tires. My uses for the truck are mainly going to be on-road / bad weather driving (my S10 sucks in snow), occasional towing (possibly towing another vehicle at some point?). I'll be honest, I want to truck to look a little bit 'meaner', but be functional and I don't want to neuter the off-road capabilities either. I'm looking at 35x12.5x15 BF Goodrich All-Terrain T/A KO tires to replace the worn out tires on there now.

The front springs have a sticker on them; I believe it says "Superlift Suspension Systems". Fender height straight up from the axle is approximately 38-1/2" at all four corners. With the 33" tires on it now, I believe that means I have 2.5" springs in the front. The blocks in the rear measure 2" and are flat.

My questions:
1. Are 35" tires going to work for me for daily (or weekend) use?

2. Is the lift in the front sufficient for 35" tires? (keeping in mind I don't plan on serious off roading)

3. Is the DIY shackle flip (the cutting the stock bracket, put the shackle through it, and weld a reinforcement in one, not the DIY brand one) going to give me the correct height so I can remove the 2" block?

4. Pinion angle. I'm sure I'll have to measure it, but does anyone have any info up front about what I'll need to do to correct it, if anything?