Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

1994 5.7 tbi not starting

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2018, 04:51 PM
Starting Member
Lisa N Greg Highsmith is on a distinguished road
Default 1994 5.7 tbi not starting

I have a 1994 full size blazer with the 5.7 tbi that is getting fuel and getting fire but not turning over. I am by no means a mechanic so please note ahead of time that the way I know it is getting fuel is while trying to crank it I can smell the fuel. The way I know it is getting fire is I took off the number 1 plug wire and put a screw driver in it and held it next to the steering shaft as my daughter tried to start it. I do not know if it is a fast enough fire or not. I would say about 1 full second between sparks as she was turning it over. The truck ran great driving it home from work. I got home and parked it. Came out the next morning to go to work and it would not start. The truck has always fired right up as soon as you hit the key before. The only symptoms I have noticed is while driving on the interstate heading to work I noticed the service engine soon light comes on and then when I get to my exit it goes off. When I first crank it after work I can smell a strong fuel smell but after a second or two you cant smell it anymore. If for some reason I goose it a couple of times when it is cold it will run real rough and almost die when it goes back to an idle until it is warmed up. I bought the truck almost exactly 1 year ago and due to working 16-18 hours a day I have not done a tune up on it and have no clue when the previous owner has done one. I am going to get a new cap and rotor button and wires and plugs tomorrow when I get off of work and see if the cap and rotor button fixes it but I am not that lucky of a person so I am looking to see if anyone can point in the right direction of things to try. Thank you very much ahead of time for taking the time to help for anyone that d