Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Engine starts but won't stay running

Old 10-13-2011, 12:03 PM
Starting Member
eron1984 is on a distinguished road
Default Engine starts but won't stay running

I'm new to using forums, but I am in desperate need of some help and am hoping someone here can give me some insight.

I have a 1971 K/5 Blazer with 350 matched to the TH350 auto. I inherited it from my Dad. He converted the points ignition to an electronic ignition system. It currently has a Mallory Unilite distributor and and MSD Blaster coil.

I ran this Blazer for about a year with no problems. Last fall it started leaking tranny fluid which quickly went from a small leak to a major leak. The pan bolts were slightly loose so I went ahead and did a fluid, filter, and gasket change. After completion I started the Blazer up...it was running for about 5 minutes when it kind of sputtered (much like if it ran out of gas) and died. I haven't had it running since.

Over the course of the last 6 weeks or so I started getting back into it to try to get it going again. The tranny leak wasn't fixed and the engine still wouldn't start, so I decided to start with the tranny first. I pulled it thinking it was the front seal, but found the pump bolts half way out. Needless to say, I found the cause of the leak. Since I had it off anyways, I went ahead and replaced the front shaft seal and the seal around the pump housing. I reinstalled the tranny and went to work trying to get the engine fired.

First I found the coil was getting just slightly more than 6 volts, so I ran a new hot wire to it from the fuse panel. it is slightly under 12 volts now. After doing that and messing with the timing by rotating the distributor, I have managed to get the engine to start. The problem I am having now is it starts right up and runs smooth for about 5 seconds, then dies almost like you were turning the key to "off."