Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

TBI sensors and running condition issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2018, 08:38 PM
93FullsizeBlazer is on a distinguished road
Default TBI sensors and running condition issues

All right fellow members. I am new to blazer forums. Honestly I just registered as a last resort to see if you guys can throw some helpful information my way.
This is a long post but I don’t want to be vague so stick with me if you can..

I have spent the last 2 months spending countless hours of research and google searches to find a solution to my problem. I’m hoping that some of you tech guys will be able to help. Now admins I wasn’t sure where to post so if you must move this feel free.

Now I can find similar issues on other posts but there are some specific symptoms that I feel I need to clarify. Let me just start by giving a run down of what I own. My issues, and what I have done so far.

My vehicle is a 1993 Chevy K1500 Blazer. It has a 5.7L TBI with a 4L60E. Completely stock other than shorty headers, and true duals. Ever since I got the blazer it has run poorly. Idles, but has random misfire, sputters, surges, popping through exhaust, consuming a lot of fuel.

Now before starting anything I checked all vacuum lines and sprayed carb cleaner on the intake and TBI but found nothing..

So I moved to the ignition system thinking that it was related to spark. New acdelco plugs and wires. Completely new distributor. New ignition coil. Set base timing at 0* with spark control unplugged. Problem persists.

After that I looked into possibly a fuel related problem. New sending unit and pump, fuel filter, new lines after the old ones fell apart, even broke down and bought a TBI rebuild kit. TB is clean and fresh. Same issue.